Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
reedmac

How to speed up compost?

Hi -

I have an Earth Machine bin that I've been filling for about 6 months with kitchen scraps, coffee grounds, some lawn clippings, some brown leaves, bolted/finished vegetable plants pulled from the garden.

It's finally about 16 inches deep and pretty solid with material. It seemed like for a long time I just didn't have enough material to really get it going, and during that time it has been suffering benign neglect, though I think it's finally doing its thing at the bottom - I just aerated it yesterday for the first time in awhile and gave it some water. It's in the shade, and it's very dry here.

My understanding is that what I've been doing so far is basically cold composting, and I'm wondering how I might convert it to hot composting. What would that mean?

My main purpose for composting is to feed and/or mulch my veggie garden - two 4'x4' raised SFG style beds - so only 32sq ft.

Any advice is much appreciated!

Comments (10)

• poaky1
    9 years ago

Keep up the moisture, correct ratio of greens and browns. I would'nt worry so much about it. It is hard to do it all by the book. I have a tumbler. After about 2 yrs, it is ready. I have put the next batches ingredients in a big barrel. I live in the sticks though. In the Burbs, there is a need for neatness, maybe a better system exists.

• slowjane CA/ Sunset 21
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Okay I will monitor more closely and see what happens. I'm still not clear what makes "cold" vs "hot" composting - or how to raise the temperature - just by having the proper ratio of C and N? Is it possible to do hot composting but be using the stuff at the bottom or do you make a pile and then leave it until you use it? Is there a method where I can keep adding while I access the finished compost?