Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
paula_b_gardener5bon

pure sand for soil

I won't even call it sandy soil because there isn't anything else in it but sand. This is my first time on this forum and I need help to amend my sand so that I can grow a garden. We have already stripped the 'grass' which was mostly weeds anyway.

The area I live in has several sand pits that are excavated, there isn't anything but sand here. My home is a raised bungalow and all of my other beds are on the 'regular' ground level and this lot used to be part of a farm so the soil is decent. The problem is at the front of the house where the builder dumped sand to raise the level at the front.

I know that I should amend it with organic material but are there other materials as well? When bark is composting it takes nitrogen so I should avoid that, yes? Should I order triple mix? peat? manure?

Thank you in advance for any advice.
Paula

Comments (44)

• Mackel-in-DFW
    9 years ago

If you're looking for a simple answer, add compost only as this will provide a means to both improve water retention while at the same time, greatly increase fertlity and root growth.

You could do this with little or no fertilizer inputs, and still have outstanding results.

Do this each year for seveal years, and the soil will cumulatively improve year after year. It works in clay soil, sandy soil, and all soils in between.

Beyond that, suggestions can get more and more complex, with various input suggestions, but this simple method is hard to beat.

M

• hoovb zone 9 sunset 23
    9 years ago

Yes, just compost, but you will likely need to fertilize somewhat more, and more often than those who garden in clay or loam or silt, because sand contains no nutrients (NPK) or micronutrients to speak of. On the plus side, great drainage!

• paula_b_gardener 5b_ON
    Original Author
    9 years ago

What type of compost do you suggest? How much should I put on the soil to start with? How deep down should I dig?