Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
greenhousekendra

composting fallen fruit apple, pear, peach, veges? good or bad?

greenhousekendra
13 years ago

This is my first year with a large compost pile. It was left here by the last owners. We also have some fruit trees, crabapple, apple, pear and peaches and I also have a vegetable garden. What are general rules on composting fallen fruit from trees? What are the compost rules for plants from the garden. For example compost my tomato suckers but throw away a diseased tomato plant?

What is the difference between hot and cold composting?

I'd like to just throw everything in there since I will not be using any of the compost until next year. Does amount time make a difference? For example, if I compost a diseased plant will it cause problems next year after a freezing winter in Kansas?

Thanks!

Comments (16)

• ericwi
    13 years ago

I compost anything and everything that was ever green and growing. Our pile is about 1/2 shredded maple tree leaves, & the rest is garden refuse, sticks, raspberry canes, and sunflower stalks. I only remove compost once a year, in late May/early June.

• west_texas_peg
    13 years ago

My chickens get first shot at any fruit, then the rest goes in the compost pile. Right now that is apricots. Having a great harvest this year...first one for my two trees.

I trimmed my daisies back today...will haul the trimmings to the compost pile tomorrow morning while it is cool.

• lazy_gardens
    13 years ago

Rules? We don't need no stinkin' rules!

What are general rules on composting fallen fruit from trees? It attracts bears and raccoons. If you don't have pests like that, make layers a fruit or two thick, covered with dry something to keep the bees and wasps away. By spring it's composted.

What are the compost rules for plants from the garden. Whatever you clipped off or pulled up, toss it on.

I compost everything - that fungus on your tiomatio plant becomes food for the compost microorganisms.