Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kitteebee

compost too wet

Kittee-Bee Berns
16 years ago

Hi Folks,

I am fairly new to composting and am using a plastic barrel type composter that has a built in tumbler. My compost is too wet--it is very wet, a bit stinky and is full of fat maggots. I never add water, just greens from the kitchen and coffee grinds. What kind of browns can I add? I have no source for leaves, and I went to the feed store to get hay today and they are out with none coming in soon. The compost is not hot at all, I have some activator, which I tried to use last year with no success. Any suggestions?

thanks!

kittee

Comments (12)

• decklap
    16 years ago

You've got tons of browns in all liklihood.
    Newspaper, junk mailing, waste paper,
    cardboard. Look at whats going in your trash
    and I'll bet you can find plenty of compostable
    carbon.

• pieohmy
    16 years ago

N.O. has those big newspaper recycle dumpsters all over if you need lots of paper quickly. Just go grab a couple of papers, you're still recycling them afterall.

• Kittee-Bee Berns
    Original Author
    16 years ago

pieohmy,
    i'm not sure what dumpster you mean? i've lived here for six years and have never seen one. where have you seen these before?

xo
    kittee

• pablo_nh
    16 years ago

Shredded paper is your best bet right now.

DON'T add activator- that's just more nitrogen (the opposite of what you need). Hay is generally not a brown- it's usually neutral to green. Straw is a brown.

Brown pine needles, other people's leaves, leftover bark mulch, paper grocery bags- all good stuff to add. Tear it up a bit first.

• pieohmy
    16 years ago