Return to the Soil Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Mostly Finished Compost?

Posted by Pd0xGard_ (My Page) on
Mon, Jun 16, 14 at 20:35

I've been composting for a couple years now, never really going full bore into it. I've had a pile 3 x 3 by maybe almost 2 ft, ish, never getting too close to 3 x 3 x 3, but I have had a few times where I've been able to get it to heat up to around 145-150F.

It's very dark, and mostly unrecognizable. I frequently add coffee grounds/filters, and vege/fruit scraps mostly, and there are those bits that I just added recently that are easily seen.

I've been dying to actually start using this as a soil amendment, or as a mulch for my pumpkin plants (and others).

Since I'm never really able to get it to 3 x 3 x 3, how should I proceed? I know using unfinished compost isn't really the best idea, but when *can* I use this? Right now the pile is 3 x 3 x 1.5 or so. It doesn't really heat up too much above ambient, maybe 10F above or so at any given time. Should I totally stop adding anything at all to it and give it time to "cure"? If so, when could I use it then? (How do I cure it exactly also)

Just not sure how to proceed, was hoping to be able to put some down around my pumpkins and see if it gives them a boost.

I know I've asked a lot! Sorry! and thanks!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Mostly Finished Compost?

The 3 x 3 x 3 thing is a broad rule of thumb for generating and holding heat, and heat is for people who want compost now and don’t want to wait too long. This is often a result of wanting to fix some problem when there’s no stock of the stuff sitting idly by.

If you’ve been letting this work for two years then it is time for another pile. Sift it and toss the lumps into the next batch. There’s very little that’s critical about most composts, and if you’re going to mulch with it, there’s nothing critical. If it’s mild and smells of nothing but earth, consider it “ready”.

o