Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
laurac17_gw

Mosquitoes and compost

laurac17
16 years ago

After turning my compost, which is three levels up from our patio, I've noticed an awful lot of mosquitoes when we're sitting on the patio. I'm new to composting and this has happened the two times I have turned my compost. Is it possible that the mosquitoes could be coming from turning my compost?

Thank you!

Comments (26)

• laurac17
    Original Author
    16 years ago

We get mosquitoes all the time, but we have been able to control them with citronella and a mosquito repelling plant. We cleaned the gutters and treated the lawn with mosquito spray. We haven't really had much of a problem since then.

By three levels up (I thought that might be confusing), I mean that we have our backyard patio level, steps going up to a second level, and then steps going up to where I keep all my composting.

My boyfriend thinks that when I turn my compost, the mosquitoes follow me down to the house as everyone gets bitten, not just me. I tend to get mosquito bites a lot, but usually not more than three or four in an entire night outside. After turning my compost today, I was left with about fifteen bites in about 30 minutes.

I don't think that the mosquitoes are coming from the compost, but based on what happened this evening and the the same thing the last time I turned my compost, I am starting to wonder...

• Lloyd
    16 years ago

Hi Laura

I thought I was imagining it but I also noticed the mosquitoes more when I was working with the compost. I am wondering if it's the CO2 that is attracting them?

Lloyd

• Kimmsr
    16 years ago

Mosquitoes do not hatch in compost, unless it is under some standing water. Mosquito larva need to be in standing water, of the right temperature, to hatch from the eggs and then develop into the mosquitoes. If you now have mosquitoes bothering you, and they were not around before, there is some standing water where they have hatched from.

• patty4150