Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jxbrown

Anyone Using Charcoal?

Has anyone started experimenting with charcoal as a soil amendment? "Biochar" as a fuel source, carbon sequestration technique, and soil amendment seems to be a hot topic now.

Comments (75)

• blutranes
    15 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Paleorthid asked:

"Any suggestions as to what questions to address?"

A very nice web page, with lots of information many can use.

As I have said before, I am a mear layman who is fond of growing a good tomato or watermelon for family and friends to enjoy. Yet I have been doing some thinking as I observe my garden as well as five (5) others that I provide compost with charcoal added as they grow throughout this year. Hence there are some questions I have that could be considered for your web page. In this context a "pure carbon source" will equate to charcoal:

1. If a pure carbon source is added to compost pile or garden what will the soil food web do with this carbon source?
    2. How long will the soil food web generate pre-digestive acids in an attempt to decompose this pure carbon source?
    3. Where is the nitrogen coming from to digest this pure carbon source by the soil food web, and what happens to this nitrogen once digestion occurs?
    4. If the soil food web doesnt care where a food source comes from (synthetic-vs- organic), why would the soil food web care if the pure carbon source is created at any given temperature or not?
    5. What happens if one adds a pure carbon source to an oxygen rich environment such as a compost tea brewer teaming with organic microbes?
    6. If a pure carbon source is added to an organic rich soil, amended with remineralization amendments (rock dust), what will happen to the plants growing in said soil?
    7. How much C02 is generated by the soil food web as it digests this pure carbon source, and what happens to this CO2?