Return to the Soil Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Composting corn cobs?

Posted by beneficial_nematoad (My Page) on
Fri, Jul 27, 07 at 11:45

Has anyone out there had success composting corn cobs? I've heard they take forever to break down so have not been including them in my piles/bins.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Composting corn cobs?

I haven't found them to be a problem. Throw them in.

o

Oh yea, the cobs left from human consumption of corn on the cob. Throw them in with the husks, they disappear fast.

o

Thanks for the responses! Those cobs are going down!

o

Glad to hear it. I'm new to composting, but threw some in yesterday.

o

I dug a hole, chopped them some with the shovel and buried them in the garden.

:)

o

I'd chop or shred them first, and bury them in the pile so as not to tempt the raccoons.

o

• Posted by val_s z5 central IL (My Page) on
    Sat, Jul 28, 07 at 7:45

I put some in early this summer and they are disintegrating very well. I did chop them up with a cleever a bit, maybe into 3 inch or so pieces. Now when I turn and come across one they crumble in my hand when I squeeze them.

Our store had corn 10 for a dollar so we bought a lot and I froze some. That was a lot of cobs going in and I hardly find any now. I think it might depend on if you get things cooking really good or not. Either way they will break down.

Val

o

The cobs breakdown fine for me. If you can get the husks, they will heat up like grass clippings. I think the coons like the corn more than the cob.

You can use predator urine to keep the coons away. If you think you are predator enuff, use yourine ;-)

o

i dumped 500 pounds of rotting seed corn, the husks from over 100 ears, and a bunch of cobs in mine. they disappeared real quick. although the birds got a good bit of the seed corn!

o

What about the butter used on the corn?

o

How much do you use? Really?
If you think it's that much don't put cobs in. But I think it will be negligible.

o