Return to the Soil Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Tumbler Compost - Looks like steam but doesn't feel like it!

Posted by ColdSummerGardener California Coast (My Page) on
Mon, Jul 14, 14 at 12:07

hi all!

I am new to backyard composting, and my wife got me a YIMBY 2 chamber tumbler to get started. I make juice almost every morning, so have a healthy supply of fresh greens available.

I've been putting my juice pulp, plus other compostable scraps in the bin for about a month now, in addition to dry leaves, dry grass clippings, paper towels, toilet paper rolls, and any other compostable cardboard sources i can find which are easily cut down to size. But pound for pound, I have more greens than browns, I think.

The other day, when I opened the bin, I saw what looked like steam - but on further inspection it looks more like pollen/a fine dust coming out of the compost.

There are *lots* of fruit flys in the bins, and the inside looks like it's turning black - but it doesn't smell. I am worried it's turning anaerobic, but don't know how to check/what to do.

Any feedback or thoughts are much appreciated!

Thanks so much,
Sam

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Tumbler Compost - Looks like steam but doesn't feel like it!

Wild guess: fungus spores. No stink: no problem; just turn it a little bit more often, assuming a good moisture level.

o

Fruit Flies, etc. can indicate the mix is too wet. These wee buggers larva need a quite wet media to hatch and grow in, wetter then is good for the bacteria that will be digesting that material. The material in any compost bin, tumbler, biostack, purpose built bin, should be just moist, like a well wrung out sponge, not damp.
Perhaps this composting tutorial might be of some use.

Here is a link that might be useful: Composting Tutorial

o