Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sunnydays_gardener

anyone worried about ink from mail?

sunnydays_gardener
13 years ago

I've been shredding mail and composting it for about two years. I know I read long ago the ink should not be a problem in the compost but things change every year and not sure if I should be making a sep pile for edibles?

Comments (14)

• toxcrusadr
    13 years ago

Have you tried searching the forum? There are various threads on this topic. I don't have any big news to share that would be different from the vague information I had before. :-]

• gardenlen
    13 years ago

no change as far as i am aware, keep using it.

len

Here is a link that might be useful: lens garden page

• hoodat
    13 years ago

The ink should be no problem. Even colored inks don't contain metals any more. The only thing I would advise is to keep slick paper out of the pile and stick to pulp paper. Slick paper breaks down very slowly.

• jonas302
    13 years ago

Nope not worried at all

• albert_135   39.17°N 119.76°W 4695ft.
    13 years ago

The most convincing answer I recall reading is that the unions got the harmful materials removed long ago because the printers were exposed to it all day every day. So the only question remaining is in what country was the material printed?

• Kimmsr
    13 years ago

It depends. is this mail a high gloss ad, or an old utility bill. Most all of the ads printed on high gloss paper still use metallic inks that are petrochemical based, easily seen because of the glossy over print (laquer) that is put over the colred ink to keep them from smearing. Most of the rest is soya based inks that are relatively innocuous.

• lisascenic Urban Gardener, Oakland CA
    13 years ago

I'm unconvinced of the safety of the pigments in the inks.

The vehicle and binders Of the inks may contain soy products, but pigments are still made of suspect chemicals -- chrome, cadmium, et cetera.

• harebelle
    13 years ago