Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tio2girl_gw

Need browns suggestions

tio2girl
14 years ago

I'm new to composting, but it is clear that I need to bulk up my browns content. The majority of material going into my compost pile (a scant week old) are green kitchen scraps and grass clippings. I'm also composting our used paper towels, but I don't have a ready supply of browns available - or maybe I'm overlooking something. We won't have leaves available for use until Fall.

So, two questions. First, can I use shredded newspaper as a brown source? Is newspaper safe if colored ink is used (on non-glossy paper)? Second, what browns do you compost?

Thanks for your help!

Comments (14)

• lazy_gardens
    14 years ago

Shredded paper, junk mail - it all works.

The alarmists will tell you to avoid colored or glossy because of heavy metals, but the printers switched to soy-based inks a long time ago because they didn't want to deal with the cleanup on the presses.

You can use dead leaves, shredded trees, and sawdust for "browns".

• kqcrna
    14 years ago

Straw is a good choice. One $7 bale lasts a long time for me.

Karen

• petalpatsy
    14 years ago

I like dryer lint for a brown. Polyester and synthetics don't really shed, so dryer lint is mostly cotton fibers and, in my house, probably some cat hair.

• gjcore
    14 years ago

petalpatsy said "I like dryer lint for a brown. Polyester and synthetics don't really shed, so dryer lint is mostly cotton fibers and, in my house, probably some cat hair"

I try so stay away from putting things in my mulch or compost that are manufactured. Most clothes come through a factory. I'd like to see an analysis of what is commonly found in dryer lint. I guess my google skills are failing me or the information isn't out there.

• louisianagal
    14 years ago