Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
germ1280

Can't quite figure out this composting....

germ1280
9 years ago

So this is my first year growing a veggie garden and composting. I cant seem to get my compost pile to stay hot. I originally started with just a pile of yard clippings and kitchen scraps in a pile and it never got warm. I finally figured that I was lacking nitrogen, and then added a bunch of grass clippings. It finally started heating up and steaming for a couple days then cooled down again. I then bought a compost bin to keep it in something instead of just in a pile in the yard. It stays in direct sunlight for most of the day, but isn't getting hot anymore. It's brown, clumpy and cold. Worms, spiders and rollie pollies have made a nice home in there now. I purchased a bag of compost starter/booster hoping that it would start heating back up again, but nope! I even threw on some rubber lined gloves and sat out there breaking everything up by hand, separating clumps and removing any sticks and larger objects. Will someone PLEASE help me and let me know what I need to do!?

Comments (15)

• cold_weather_is_evil
    9 years ago

This is only a problem if you are in a bit of a hurry. If you let it sit it will keep breaking down, just on what is perhaps a yearly schedule rather than a weekly one. If you have worms and bugs living in it, there's no problem that HAS to be fixed. They, along with milder things like fungi, will continue the work.

Leave the sticks.

• greenthumbzdude
    9 years ago

sounds to me that you are lacking carbon not nitrogen....use shredded paper, leaves, sawdust, rice hulls etc. should have more browns or carbon materials than nitrogen for a hot pile.

This post was edited by greenthumbzdude on Mon, Jul 7, 14 at 20:32

• nancyjane_gardener
    9 years ago

^ correcto! I got a great book when I started called "Let it Rot!" And that is what you need to do!