Return to the Soil Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Spreading compost in Fall or Spring??

Posted by flowersnhens Zone 4 (My Page) on
Sun, Jul 19, 09 at 21:46

HI there,,,I have been making my own compost for a couple years now. I had very good luck with my first try. I ended up with Black Crumbly Moist Soil. I was quite pleased. I now have a big compost bin made with wooden pallets that I started last fall,,Started with all the leaves from the yard, and grass clippings as well as all the kitchen scraps, old straw and chicken coop manure. I just turned it completely over for the first time,,and it is really starting to look great, but not quite ready yet. My question is this: Is it best to spread it on the veggie garden this fall??? Or should I wait until spring??? I am wondering if I spread it on this fall,,will it be just as fertile after overwintering in the garden all winter?? (temps go down to subzero here). Should I let it stay in the compost bin and add to it through winter?? or spread it when it is done this fall????? How long will it provide a good balance of nutrients to my garden???
AND: This particular bin is in mostly shade. Is that ok?? Or should I move it to a more sunny spot??? My last one sat in part sun/part shade. I have this one out of sight from the road,,so it is in a shadier spot this year. Any comments are greatly appreciated.
Flowersnhens.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Spreading compost in Fall or Spring??

Congratulations on having such a nice batch ready to use. Spread it whenever its convenient for you. It will do the garden good no matter what.

An advantage to spreading it in the fall is that you can go out in late winter to get a soil sample and have it tested. Then you'll have time to do any adjustment your soil needs before spring planting.

o

I'm going to spread mine in the fall mainly because it takes forever for a large pile to unthaw in the spring and I like to get going as soon as I can