Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
derffie_gw

Brewery waste and compost

Derffie
9 years ago

I'm new to composting and am helping start our community garden's compost pile. So far, so good. Temps are about 120 degrees. I read that brewery waste can be used to make compost. Made my way over to a local brewery all too happy to get rid of spent hops and wheat. After I threw some of that into the pile I came across an article mentioning that some brewery waste can be allelopathic. Does anyone have any experience using brewery waste in compost?
Thanks!

Comments (13)

• lazy_gardens
    9 years ago

I came across an article mentioning that some brewery waste can be allelopathic

Didn't the article specify WHAT waste?

• Derffie
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Just says "some spent grains" may be allelopathic

• glib
    9 years ago

Maybe spent corn (maize) which prevents seed germination. But brewery waste is so hot and so green, it decomposes very quickly in the presence of any browns. If I remember correctly, composted pine needles have the same effect, until fully composted. They are much worse, because they decompose slowly.

• Kimmsr
    9 years ago

I can find nothing that indicates brewery waste might be allelopathic when composted, only that this high protein material needs a lot of other high carbon material to offset that. What is the source of this article?

• Derffie
    Original Author
    9 years ago

This is from vermiposters.com: