Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ilovecucumbers

Putting beds to bed

This is my first year growing in raised beds. Last fall, an organic farmer built them, then filled them with a rich soil/compost mix. Everything is growing well, but I'm trying to find out how to care for my beds when the season is over.

I imagine that I should add compost, to return nutrients to the soil. However, how much compost to add? The beds are 4 x 8.

Also, it would seem like adding new compost would overflow the soil already in the beds. I mean, the beds are already full. Do I remove some of this season's soil to add the new stuff?

This last question, especially, sounds so dumb. I've Googled, but can't find answers.

Comments (7)

• cold_weather_is_evil
    9 years ago

The simple answer is the level will always go down so fill 'em up with compost enough to replenish what's been lost. It doesn't matter much insofar as when you do it, whether all at once or as you go along. If you worry about drying up and blowing away, you can always dig it in a bit. Gardening is long term and continuous, even in winter.

• Kimmsr
    9 years ago

The only real way to know what that soil might need is with some soil tests. If your state universities Cooperative Extension Service offers soil testing that would be one step. These simple soil tests can also help,
    1) Soil test for organic matter. From that soil sample put enough of the rest to make a 4 inch level in a clear 1 quart jar, with a tight fitting lid. Fill that jar with water and replace the lid, tightly. Shake the jar vigorously and then let it stand for 24 hours. Your soil will settle out according to soil particle size and weight. For example, a good loam will have about 1-3/4 inch (about 45%) of sand on the bottom. about 1 inch (about 25%) of silt next, about 1 inch (25%) of clay above that, and about 1/4 inch (about 5%) of organic matter on the top.