Return to the Soil Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Composting pine needles (pine straw)

Posted by DonZone8 8 (My Page) on
Wed, Aug 6, 14 at 12:50

I'm a composting newbie.

My property has "regular" leaves and pine needles (pine straw) mixed together -- about 20-30% pine straw. I've read conflicting reports about pine needle acidity and the speed of decomposition.

If I compost this mix, will the pine needles remain relatively decomposed when the other leaves have finished composting? Can I then sift out or otherwise remove the pine needles?

Do I need to supplement with a lot of other brown materials?

Or is it all more trouble than it's worth?

I have a new tumbler composter.

Thanks for any insights,
--Don

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Composting pine needles (pine straw)

Pine needles will compost about as fast ans anything else if you keep it damp and have some source of nitrogen (greens, not browns)

HOWEVER - why not use them as mulch without composting them? It makes a nice mulch that tends to stay in place.

o

lazygardens: Thanks for the reply. One problem is that the pine needles are mixed in with the other leaves.

Does anyone know a (relatively) easy way to separate the needles from everything else?

o

Compost those Pine Needles right along with the other leaves. While the pH of Pine Needles is in the range of 4.0 to 5.0 the pH range of other tree leaves is in the same range and compost finishes at a pH of near neutral, 6.8 quite often. A study done some time back by Dr. Abigail Maynard at the New Haven Agricultural Research Station of UCONN found that adding Pine Needles, or Oak leaves, to soils did not significantly affect the soils pH, even over a fairly long time.
The only problem I have seen with composting the needles from Red and White Pine and Spruces is that they needles can present a problem of digestion for the bacteria if adequate amounts of Nitrogen are not added to the mix.

o