Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
swanlake999

Advice needed on tumbler composter

swanlake999
9 years ago

I am a gardening newbie and I have been looking for a composter that will suit my needs. I live in the city with a small-ish lot so I don't have a need for huge quantities of compost. I have my eye on the FCMP Tumbling Composter With Two Chambers For Efficient Batch Composting.

http://www.homedepot.ca/product/tumbling-composter-with-two-chambers-for-efficient-batch-composting/954616

It holds 5 cubic feet and is supposed to produce finished compost in just a few weeks. If, in fact, it does compost quite quickly, I "think" the size will be sufficient for my needs. I live in zone 8b (metro Vancouver) so we have mild winters. My first questions are: (a) how quickly will I be able to produce finished compost in the winter months? (b) do you think that a year or two down the road I will wish I had purchased a larger unit?

This post was edited by Swanlake999 on Thu, Aug 21, 14 at 19:16

Comments (11)

• swanlake999
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Sorry, should have uploaded the picture in my original post.

Also, just a P.S. that I think making my own composter out of an empty barrel would be much cheaper but my husband's response to this one was "thank heavens it only involves money, not more of my time...." (He has a number of garden-related projects on his to do list!)

• toxcrusadr
    9 years ago

Tumblers are discussed here regularly, and while some like them, there are various problems and issues that make the high cost not that appealing for many. One of the common complaints is that the 'compost in a few weeks' claims do not usually pan out, and experienced composters are not surprised. Compost takes a little time. Here's some search results if you want to do a little reading.

http://search.gardenweb.com/search/nph-ind.cgi?term=tumbler&forum=soil&forum_name=Soil