Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
evelyn256

Bad Mulch

Evelyn256
9 years ago

I just read somewhere that the absolute worst thing you can do is mulch with wood chips, and especially dyed mulch since it leaches nitrogen out of soil, starving the plants. I don't have access to leaves or grass clippings or room to make compost, and I've been using shredded pine mulch from Lowe's for several years. Is this why some of my plants look so sad?

Comments (15)

• Laurel Zito
    9 years ago

I guess it's possible, but it could be a lot of other factors like how much water etc.. I use wood mulch, but a lot of compost mixed. I use a lot of stuff. You don't need grass to make compost or leaves, use free Starbucks grounds, bagged wooden mulch and table scraps. It good to add leaves if you have leaves but it is not required to add leaves or grass, you only need browns and greens together, look up this online. What is a brown and what is green. It is too long to post it right now.

• grubby_AZ Tucson Z9
    9 years ago

Mulch doesn't really do anything to soil chemicals; it really just sits on top of the dirt (as a protective and visual barrier) and doesn't interact chemically with it. Where they touch damply, yes, there is rotting going on, but verrrrrrry slow rotting. You can functionally and chemically and fungally and conceptually keep separate what's on the soil from what's in the soil.

No language was harmed in the making-up of these words.

• Evelyn256
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thanks! I feel better now. AND I'm going to be recycling our coffee grounds. :0)

• hoovb zone 9 sunset 23
    9 years ago

Here's an article about Mulch myths.

Here is a link that might be useful: wood chips as mulch

• Laurel Zito
    9 years ago