Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
seedintheground

Fall soil prep and problem-fixing

seedintheground
9 years ago

Hi all,
I'm new to yardwork and gardening, so I'd really appreciate some thoughts on the following issues:

I had several (10-15) very old, extremely overgrown shrubs that I had cut completely to ground level just last week. All that remains are stumps and roots. I've tried to dig them out, but the "soil" around the stumps is too tough to get through easily. I'm thinking I will drill holes into the stumps and fill them with herbicide to speed the killing/decaying process. After this, if I applied a thick layer of compost, followed by a layer of woodchips over the whole area, would that be okay? (I basically need to cover up the entire area since it looks pretty crazy and bare with the shrubs gone. At the same time, since it's fall I can use this as a time to prepare my soil for the spring.)

Also, in terms of fall planting (perennials, small shrubs), is that "a thing" or should I not plant in the fall? I've tried to look this up, but all I get is info about vegetables.

Comments (6)

• Kimmsr
    9 years ago

Most all "weed" killers, plant poisons, must be applied to foliage to work, according to the manufacturers. Boring holes in stumps and filling them with a high Nitrogen material has been used by some to hasten the decay of those stumps.
    Now is the time to take a good, in depth, look at the soil to see what it needs to become a good healthy soil that will grow strong and healthy plants. Aside from soil pH and major nutrient levels and balance you should know about how much sunlight the area gets, how much moisture the area gets (is irrigation available or must the plants rely on rainfall), what might be planted there? If something that needs a soil pH in the 4.0 to 5.0 range do not amend that soil for plants that need a soil of 6.2 to 6.8.
    Organic matter is almost always a help, especially if the soil is compacted and hard to work.