Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
emsy_gw

trouble with decomposing compost

emsy
16 years ago

Hi i am new to composting and dont know what i am doing wrong please help!!! I have had my compost bin now for 12 months but it dosnt seem to be doing anything!!!!!!!!!! It does get a bit of morning sun up until lunch time, there always seems to be white flies in there aswell. I have never turned it as it is too heavy and awkward to do.

Comments (11)

• robin_maine
    16 years ago

It's slow composting. If you want to speed up the process you need to turn it, make sure it's as wet as a damp sponge, and has a proper ratio of greens to browns to make sure it gets hot and doesn't smell. Hang out here for a while. You'll learn a lot!

• kqcrna
    16 years ago

Even back when I didn't turn my compost it all rotted within a year.

I suspect it's too wet or too dry, in different areas of the pile, and not getting enough air. How big is your bin? Is it covered? Is it full? Half full? Do you add to it regularly? Have you had wet weather or drought? Hot weather or moderate temperatures?

In my area the weather has been extremely hot and dry, and my compost is drying out faster than I have ever seen. As soon as it finishes a hot cycle I flip the whole thing and add moisture a little at a time as I rebuild until it's damp throughout.

If you can flip it, even once, and correct the moisture level as you rebuild the pile, it will probably speed up a lot. Also, at some point you have to stop adding to it or it will never be compost. This is why 2 bins are better than one.

Karen

• Kimmsr
    16 years ago

The two usual reasons material piled up does not compost is the C:N ratio, Carbon to Nitrogen, is way out, just not enough Nitrogen so the bacteria that will digest that materail have no energy, or the material is too dry and the bacteria that need a moist environment cannot work.