Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ptwonline

Sinking garden bed question

ptwonline
11 years ago

I am new to gardening and I have noticed that some of my new garden beds have sunk somewhat in just the first year. The beds were a mixture of the existing moderately clay soil along with lots of store-bought triple mix. I guess it was initially reasonably fluffy and now it is fairly compacted down by rain and occasional foot traffic.

I can easily add more soil/compost to level out the bed, but my worry is the shrubs planted on top. They are sinking along with the soil, and so if I add more on top it would just start to bury the plants.

Is there anything I can do with my soil to help slow down this sinking? To get the shrubs back up is there anything I can do aside from having to re-plant them? It looks like they sank about an inch. The rest of my lawn is not sinking...just my garden beds.

Thanks!

Comments (5)

• toxcrusadr
    11 years ago

With woody shrubs there really isn't a way other than replanting them. I think you're right about why this is happening: it's combination of compaction as the air related fluff settles out, as well as decomposition of the organic matter that was in the original mix.

I assume you're going to be adding compost to the soil annually to keep the organic matter content up, and you might consider adding some mineral soil as well, or the triple mix you mentioned if one of its components is soil. Compost will pretty much decay away, but soil will not.

By adding some material you can at least reduce the sinking in the rest of the garden, and even around the shrubs if you're careful, but don't bury the stems of the shrubs. If they are going to be big ones, their own root balls will expand a bit as they grow, and that will help.

It's best to keep foot traffic off of clay, avoid digging when it's wet, and keep it mulched to retain moisture and prevent pounding rain from compacting the surface.

• ptwonline
    Original Author