Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dougp01

seeking advice on my compost pile

Doug Powell
9 years ago

Hi all,

I am rather new at composting and this year I started a pile in the back of my garden. It was originally a pile of chips from tree and shrubbery limbs from two years ago and has evolved from that. This summer I have been adding vegetable scraps, coffee grounds. grass clippings every other week and recently I added a few shovels full of fallen apples, broken and crushed. I turn the entire pile about every three to four days and keep it damp. Most times when I turn it in the early morning, I get a nice fog indicating heat.

I am amazed at how quickly everything is absorbed and the pile definitely has the look and the smell of good dirt. Using some high school math, I estimate the pile is about 21 cubic feet or just under one yard.

Although, it appears very good, I still consider this to be very brown in content as a result of the limbs I previously chipped and added.

This autumn, I expect to get 10 to 12 leave and lawn bags full of fallen leaves. I do have a way of breaking these down in my chipper as well and want supplement my growing pile. I also expect to have a few more loads of grass clippings I can combine.

My garden has never done well, being mainly bentonite clay and previous owners having a burn out there. The county extension agent says I should supplement with 30% organic material. And by the way I am in USDA zone 4.

So my question is, should I continue adding to my existing composted pile with this fall's leaves and lawn clippings and till it in next spring or should I till in my existing pile right now and start a fresh pile for next year.

Thanks a bunch, ~doug

Comments (20)

• lisanti07028
    9 years ago

If what you've got now is almost digested, I would till in what you've got, and mulch the garden with the leaves and grass when the time comes. Then you can till that in in the spring, or just pull it aside and plant.