Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
puchinita5

the right soil for indoors? peat moss and perlite

Puchinita5
9 years ago

I'm really new to growing plants, started growing African Violets back in march and now also have:

Jasmine (maid of orleans)
Banana Shrub
Sensitive Plant
Purple Velvet Plant
Chinese Perfume Plant

For the african violets, I have been using a mixture of sphagnum peat moss and perlite, about 50:50. They have done extremely well with this. I also have used this for the Jasmine. Seems fine there too.

I'm wondering if I can use this for all my plants. My other plants are newer so they have been growing with the soil they came in. They need to be repotted, so I'm wondering if it's okay to also use the peat moss perlite mix for them as well.

Thank you for your help!

Comments (4)

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    9 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

It would not be my first choice. Is there a reason a regular potting soil was not used? Peat can be quite acidic, which many plants may not like (buffering agents are used in peat-based potting soil). And depending on the grade of the perlite, your mix might be too dense, not providing sufficient aeration.

• Pyewacket
    9 years ago

Add a small amount of dolomitic lime and do look for coarse perlite. Home Depot has it in the Thermorock brand - if the store doesn't carry it normally they should be able to order you a bag. Make sure it is the COARSE grade and not the medium grade. I think the bag is yellow. No need to unpot your plants right this moment, you can "side dress" with lime and a small amount of bone meal.