Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
greenepastures

Chelated Iron...Organic or not?

greenepastures
11 years ago

Greetings gardeners. I was given a bag of chelated iron. It's a reddish-purpleish, granular substance and a small amount, say a couple of tablespoons, turns two gallons of water dark red. I'm a bit nervous because I don't know if this substance is fully organic. It certainly doesn't say so on the label....It's not "OMRI" listed but some organic products aren't. I don't know if I can trust this thing. I'm seeking some "OMRI" listed iron product for my vegetable garden but in the meantime, can I trust chelated iron in my vegetable garden and still be considered organic?

Remember, I'm new at this and I'm learning as I go along. This is my first garden so please be accurate, but delicate with your responses.

Comments (14)

• RpR_
    11 years ago

What brand is it?

Just look up what iron chelate actually is.

• jean001a
    11 years ago

Does your soil need it? Only a professional soil test knows.

• TAB3230
    11 years ago

What? Chelate synonym of salt? It is synonym of being available to be absorbed by living organisms if necessary!

• tsugajunkie z5 SE WI ♱
    11 years ago

Tox did not say a synonym for salt, simply that it is a generic term, just like "salt" is a generic term.

tj

• Kimmsr
    11 years ago

Iron is a micro nutrient, plants need small amounts while an excess can be harmful so a good soil test is necessary to see if additional amounts are needed and if the deficiency (if there is one) is not due to other factors such as soil pH.
    Chelated Iron is a form of Iron more readily available to a plant. There are acceptable to organic growers chelated iron products that will have the OMRI stamp on the label. If that is not there it may not be acceptable to a commercial organic grower but could be to someone that is not selling what they grow.
    Before you use this be sure you need it.

• gargwarb
    11 years ago