Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sloannie

What happens to the worms?

sloannie
10 years ago

If I take compost and worms from my compost bin and add them to the soil when I plant a new plant, what happens to the worms? They no longer have food scraps to eat so do they die?

Comments (10)

• IanW Zone 5 Ont. Can.
    10 years ago

No....they will live happily in your garden soil feeding on leaf debris and other organic matter that worms like to feed on...double benefit......your compost and the addition of worms in your soil.....

• david52 Zone 6
    10 years ago

Does that include red wrigglers? Do they compete successfully with the resident, brown earth worms?

• toxcrusadr
    10 years ago

I've heard the red wigglers used specifically for worm bins do need scraps to feed on. I have no idea what they ate in the wild before people invented worm bins, but I'm no vermicompost expert.

Worms that come out of the ground into the pile will be just fine back in the ground.

• glib
    10 years ago

The wrigglers will crawl off and die at the first freeze. They are from parts of the world where there is a constant supply of decaying matter, such as a tropical swamp.

• klem1
    10 years ago

For the most part I agree the wigglers can't survive much less reproduce under average conditions. Does anyone here at GW practice windrow vermicomposting? I have talked to people who raise worms that overwinter them in a pile of soil with food incorprated. I expect worms would do ok in mild climate if combined with trench composting if a few things were done to accomindate the worms like making sure the trench never flooded and the trench was gradualy extended. No advantage of doing so comes to mind but dirt people are a crazy bunch so I bet it's been tested.

• chickencoupe
    10 years ago