Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
thepollywogpond

should this 'worm' be in my compost?

c2g
13 years ago

I've been composting all my compostable kitchen scraps for the past 4 months in a 30 gal rubber garbage can with drill holes poked in it. I've been filling up my mini (gallon?) compost holder in the kitchen, dumping it in the composter, and layering it each time with dried leaves or dried yard/garden cuttings. I've just about filled it to the top - no mixing - and I noticed some large maggot-type worms all over the top kitchen scraps layer. (see pics below).

The first time I saw them, I checked the mini kitchen composter I was about to dump and there were little white versisons, which I'm guessing are also maggots, on the vegetables. I dumped them in and gave the mini composter a good washing. Usually fruit flies, that's it. Is my compost OK with these creatures in it?

{{gwi:309808}}

{{gwi:309810}}

Comments (26)

• c2g
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Forgot to mention they're about a 1/2" long. (and I think that was a cantaloupe rind.)

• tsugajunkie z5 SE WI ♱
    13 years ago

Black Soldier Fly larvae I'd say, happily breaking down the compost.

tj

• gtippitt
    13 years ago

In the thread "What is this in my compost bin?" (see link below), we've been talking about these same larvae.

There are Black Soldier Fly larvae, which I've learned are even more effective for vermicompost than red wigglers.

Here is a link that might be useful: What is this in my compost bin?

• Kimmsr
    13 years ago

A fly maggot for sure, whether it is the larva of the Black Slodier Fly or the common house fly or the stable fly or one of the others is difficult to tell since they all look very similar. Maggots need a fairly moist environment and a good source of protein to exist so their presence can indicate your compost is too wet and has some Nitrogen that needs to be covered.