Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
flo9_gw

Composting bucket/winter Question

flo9
10 years ago

Hey

I've looked everywhere and not seeing an answer. Maybe somebody here knows!

I'd like to start my first compost pile and yeah I'm a novice. ;) It's fall now and winter approaching.

Do I need to drill holes in a 5 gallon bucket for air circulation to store my waste greens etc during the fall and winter months?

We get snow here during winter and I currently live in an apartment with a small concrete patio so must go in a bucket.
I'd like to get a jump start collecting things for spring time. And I've read the importance of holes during the summer time... but what about winter? Is there a minimum temp outside where holes are a must or should always have? Because I keep reading about insulation etc during winter.

And I read during winter to add leaves and shredded paper on top... since I may not have much produce to add.. should I often add layers of food and paper and/or leaves?

Any experience to share I'd appreciate it.

Thanks

Comments (11)

• chickencoupe
    10 years ago

Hi flo!

Good for you in composting though you have a small space!!

I bet someone will chime in with more specific details. But I can weigh in:

Good compost always needs decent air flow. Minimal air flow means slower moisture loss and that usually means going anaerobic (smelly) unless it is freezing which slows everything down. It's still great in breaking down the compost.

With experience, you'll learn what works and doesn't work for you.

If you plan on dumping a lot of kitchen waste, you'll need something to capture the moisture below if you don't want a mess on your patio. You may already know this.

Normally, if a mix is too wet more carbons (browns) can be added to compensate. When your bucket begins to get full, you're limited in space. So, you'll need to be more specific in handling the ratios of greens to browns.
    The smaller the pieces, the faster the compost.