Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
biinaboo

Lasagna ingredient questions...

Kristiina DiOrio
17 years ago

I am new to the Lasagna gardening method. I have read the book, read many threads, and search as many articles as I could. My problem is that i don't have a lot of access to great ingredients. I know from my experience in the kitchen that ingredients make the meal...is it the same in this case?

What I DON'T have:

Poo from any animal.

Compost.

Peat moss (I don't like the effects on the bogs).

What I DO have:

Office paper, more than I could ever imagine

Grass clippings, enough but not a lot

Coffee grounds, plenty (the lady at circle K loves me)

Yard trimmings, NOT a lot & I don't have a chipper/shreader

Pine needles, plenty

I know that these are pretty bare bones. Could I do the lasagna method anyway? I'm not worried about the coffee and pine needles making the bed acidic. I plan to plant ALL blueberries in this space. My soil is neutral and up naturally.

Any and all comments are warmly welcomed. Thanks for helping out a newbie to the soil forum.

Kristiina

Comments (15)

• gardenlen
    17 years ago

g'day kristiina,

i would suggest you try to maintane the neutral aspect of the soil, this is the first time i've heard that coffee beans (i've never used them) are acid causing i know pine needles are, so for me would use them sparingly if not at all.

lasagne/raised bed/no-dig/square foot are all the same thing presented in according the the nature of things in very different ways but they are all varients of sheet mulching raised garden beds. so to that end nothing is set in cement as to what you need or how you use it, like cooking you do it to suit your needs.

anyhow we use raised beds so invite you to check how we do ours there may be some ideas there for you?

len

Here is a link that might be useful: lens garden page

• kqcrna
    17 years ago

Looks like a great list to me. I'd go for it all. Is the office paper shredded? That would help.

Karen