Return to the Soil Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Flour in the compost?

Posted by bethany_gardener Phoenix az (My Page) on
Fri, Oct 9, 09 at 19:29

I am relatively new to composting. I've only finished about one batch before (and am so excited about it! I got about five gallons worth on my first shot! I even took pictures of it.) So I've never composted anything unusual before. Recently my food cabinet has had an infestation of weevils. The flour, rice and cereal are done for. My question is this: Are these things greens or browns?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Flour in the compost?

Greens. I used to think they were browns because they're considered carbohydrates as people food, but somebody pointed out to me that if grains (like wheat and corn) are greens, then flour, cereal, etc must also be greens.

o

Flours are different. Some of them like rye flour may be considered as browns because of higher carbohydrates content. Put flour in the water and wait. If it stinks after 2 days then it is greens else it is browns. Rye flour in the water gives after some time milky water made by lactic bacteria. They decompose carbohydrates and produce lactic acid. It is very usefull stuff in the garden for sprinkling plants. Flyes don't like it and fly away. It can help also with many pests and decease problems. It is also exelent plant food through the leaves.

o

When milling some grains into flour some 21 nutrients are removed by the process and a bit later 10 of them are put back in and the flour is called enriched. If what you have is that "enriched" flour and not while grain then consider it a brown.

o

size of bin is the only thing that really matters with these items sounds like yours isn't huge so just put a little in at a time if you were to put so much in that it could upset the green brown balance it might get kinda goooy and stinky with flour and cereal

o

"21 nutrients are removed by the process and a bit later 10 of them are put back in"