Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mogardener

homemade barrel compost tumblers

mogardener
17 years ago

How much compost will a barrel composter make? Does it still take 2-3 weeks in optimum conditions or does the smaller size require more time? I got a plastic barrel from a neighbor this morning and have printed out the directions in the link GIJane provided recently. I plan to use it in my hoop house for the winter. The HH would provide some extra heat to keep it working longer into cold weather. If it's successful I may build a second one as I don't have enough hot compost for starting seeds, beds in the hoop house, etc.

Also, I'm trying to figure out a way to put bearings of some sort on the stand so that I don't have to use a metal rod inside the composter. DH built me a similar composter years ago using a metal barrel and a metal axle--both promptly rusted out. I'd be grateful for suggestions. This will be my own project as I am just learning to use DH's power tools and know little about fasteners, etc. Please keep it simple for me. Thanks for your help and input.

Comments (27)

• justaguy2
    17 years ago

Honestly I recommend you bite the bullet and buy a commercial unit like the compost tumbler.

There are numerous challenges involved in making a tumbler that will work well and last more than a season or two.

Commercial units have, for the most part, figured out these challenges.

On a 1 to 5 scale with 1 being a project ideal for beginners and a 5 being a project even pros might not care to try I would rate building a tumbler that works as well as the commercial units a 3. It can be done, but you really need to know what you are doing from a materials and engineering standpoint.

• mogardener
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Thanks, Guy. There is absolutely no money in the budget for a commercial model right now so I guess the barrel I bought will become another rain barrel. I needed another one anyway.

• heidi41
    17 years ago

mogardener: