Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
liisa_rwc

Pine Needles?

liisa_rwc
15 years ago

Hello,

I'm new to composting and want to know... what's the risk of using mostly (75 to 80%) pine needles as the "brown" for my compost bin? Will the finished compost be high in acid?

Thanks!

Liisa

Comments (16)

• liisa_rwc
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Thanks tj :-)

Liisa

• Kimmsr
    15 years ago

Many people that should know better mislead others by stating that a soil is "high in acid" when the real problem with that soil is a lack of oxygen molecules, an acidic soil just has more free hydrogen ions than a soil closer to neutral, so no your compost composed mostly of pine needles will not be "high in acid". There is also an old, and persistant, myth that pine needles make soil, or maybe compost, acidic but they will not, because the wee buggers that digest the organic matter that we compost work to make that nearly neutral.

• liisa_rwc
    Original Author
    15 years ago

"an old, and persistant, myth that pine needles make soil, or maybe compost, acidic but they will not"

Another myth busted... :-)

Thanks.. I was one to believe that myth to be true.
    Now I know better.

Liisa

• digdirt2
    15 years ago

80% pine needles as your source of browns isn't ideal. It will work eventually but there are much better browns available and 80% of anything as a component should be avoided if possible. Diversity is the key to great compost. ;)

As tj said, pine needles are VERY slow to decompose - a walk in the piney woods shows that - so the carbon activity in your pile will lag behind the nitrogen activity. Got any leaves or cardboard or even shredded newspaper you can throw in to better balance the ingredients?

And a bit of a disclaimer or clarification if I may about the "myth busting" - we are talking about 2 different things.