Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
catsinthegarden

substitute for greens?

treelover
17 years ago

I'm making some new beds using cardboard and lots of finely ground wood mulch over grass...digging and turning the sod only at the borders. This is my first try at making a lasagna bed.

I've got lots of browns (fallen leaves, twigs, etc.) but hardly any greens (other than the existing turf) since my mower is a mulching type and my neighbor just hauled all his grass clippings off to the dump last week.

Should I apply some nitrogen to these new beds? Would fish emulsion be better? I don't intend to plant anything until next spring.

Tia! --Carol

Comments (32)

• donn_
    17 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Carol..the existing sodgrass will help, but if you've added a lot of Carbon material, it really needs some Nitrogen to assist in decomposition. It doesn't have to be green in color. Used coffee grounds are full of N, and Starbucks gives them to gardeners. Other sources include throwaways at local grocery stores, produce markets and such. If you're near a lake, chances are you can scrounge aquatic grasses from the shore. Kitchen scraps can't hurt, either. It's amazing what you can forage and collect when you put your mind to it.

• blutranes
    17 years ago

treelover,

Fish Emulsion for a lasagna bed can get rather expensive. It would serve you better to save that for your garden in the spring. If you live in or near a farming community you may be able to go to a feed store and purchase a 50 pound bag of Alfalfa pellets for about $10.00. Alfalfa pellets get very hot on a lasagna bed, and can be spread thin with good results.

This time of year is a tough time to find greens, as the summer is a hard time to find browns. Kind of look around your neighborhood and just observe what you see. You will be surprised at what people are putting out right now. In no time flat you will be posting on the "Compost Junkie" thread with pride...

Blutranes

• pablo_nh