Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lindarose_gw

Can I put pickle juice in my compost?

lindarose
14 years ago

I'm in NC above Raleigh. Lots of red clay. I'm new to serious composting. I've always put my kitchen garbage in the yard but now I have a compost heap. A pile. It's looking very good. I make my own pickles and have about four jars of pickle juice left, herbs included. Can I put this in the compost heap?

Probably a dumb question, but I've been saving these. Don't want to just put it down the drain.

Thanks, lindarose

PS: This is my first post to this forum, but I read your wonderful posts all the time.

Comments (13)

• petalpatsy
    14 years ago

I don't put really salty stuff in my compost pile, so it just depends on how much salt is in your pickle juice.

• elphaba_gw
    14 years ago

I thought vinegar was toxic to bacteria which would make me wonder whether the pickle juice (which has vinegar in it, right?) would kill some of the micro-critters doing their work in the compost.

Though I've heard here numerous times that the micro-critters will "keep on truckin'" no matter what you throw at them (even though they might get slowed a little now and then.)

• Lloyd
    14 years ago

I normally drain the juice out and add the solid stuff to the compost but I don't really know the answer to your question. So from my standpoint, it ain't such a dumb question.

I suppose it would also depend on the volume of the pile, hot/cold, etc etc.

Lloyd

P.S. Welcome to the forum.

• curt_grow
    14 years ago

If you add it put it in one spot preferably on the ground I think it would retard the bacteria for a bit, but I don't Know. Very good question. Think I'll do a search.

Curt :-)

• val_s
    14 years ago

Hi Linda - I'm not the expert here but I just thought I'd let you know that I do it (pour pickle juice on compost) all the time. I've never known it to be a problem.

Val

• Kimmsr
    14 years ago