Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
greenepastures

Using Leaves in the soil bed...

greenepastures
10 years ago

I've got about 3 beds that I'm preparing for early spring planting. They're about 10'X4' each and I plan on using diary cow manure, straw, compost, and coffee grounds as amendments. The idea is to till all the materials, water well and cover with a thick layer of straw. It's my hope that with a generous supply of each, the beds should be ready to go by March 2014 (i'm in zone 9, Central Florida where the "soil" is predominantly sand).

I've read that leaves are a good soil additive but I don't quite know in what quantities I should add them. Would I need to chop them considering I won't be planting for another 3.5 months?

Please advise. I'm still fairly new at this.

Comments (13)

• c6-zr1
    10 years ago

You will be just fine, I till into my 60' x60' garden every end of Sept (zone3) at least 100 large bags of leaves every fall and if I don't add manure I sprinkle in about 20 lbs of high nitrogen fertilizer and by mid may its all broken down, I till again in mid April (potatoes) and plant the rest of tha garden in Mid May . With your warm climate and the fact you watered it in it should be decomposed by mid April when you are ready to plant. Leaves decompose faster if they are chopped up, however in your warm climate if they are mixed into your soil for 4 months and watered in I wouldn't worry about it . Good luck you are doing it right..... keep adding mother natures good stuff.

• Kimmsr
    10 years ago

What quantities of vegetative waste to add to your soil depends on what that soil needs. You want to end up with about 6 to 8 percent organic matter, humus, in your spoil so add enough to reach that goal.