Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
csross_gw

Compost/Fertilizer plans for next spring

csross
10 years ago

I'm trying to plan out my compost / fertilizer additions for next year, so here's some background. I'm in Southern California, zone 8-9. Last spring was my first time gardening, so I built a 6x4 raised bed and filled it with a "planting mix" from a local nursery. They put a scoop in the back of my pickup, so I don't know what exactly was in it, but there's a lot of fine bark/wood chips, compost, some sand, loamy soil, etc. It's pretty fast-draining, and seems low in non-woody organic matter. I have a compost pile going, but it's not finished yet (I put a lot of dead ornamental grasses in, and they haven't completely decomposed yet. Since it's my first time with compost as well, I have no idea when it'll be finished and usable.) I have broccoli and greens growing in the garden now, which hopefully will continue through the winter. Then, I want to start planting tomatoes, basil, etc. in March.
So I'm thinking about adding a bag of chicken or steer manure from Home Depot as fertilizer. Should that simply be spread on top the existing soil? I don't want to dig around too much because I currently have plants there, but I want it in the ground in time for my tomatoes in mid-late March. My other idea (and the main question this rambling post is asking) is to buy the manure now and throw it in my compost pile for a month or two. I figure this would both help finish decomposition in my compost pile, as well as making sure the manure is well-aged before I put it in my garden. Then I could add the compost/manure mix in spring. However, would this defeat the purpose of adding manure, because it would start breaking down in the compost pile and not my garden?
Thanks very much!

Comments (20)

• Kimmsr
    10 years ago