Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
farmerswife1_gw

Tilling new garden plot

farmerswife1
9 years ago

Hello all!
I'm sorry if this is the wrong place, but I have been a lurker here for quite some time, and finally decided to join because I get great info from this site, but I can't seem to find any clear advice on this topic. I am in my third year of gardening, and haven't gotten to till my new garden plots before the snow hit. I will spare you the long boring details, but basically I am working in my own yard, however I was going to go in on seed and compost and supplies with a few other people (and no one has really followed through), and I wanted to have the ground tilled and the first layer of compost worked in before the snow so it could sit over the winter, then repeat again in spring. I could wait until spring to till and add compost, but will it be ready in time, or as nutrient-rich? I don't want to make a big investment, for one because I am still new to a lot of this, but also because if it won't work as well, I don't see a point in putting out a ton of money for seed and supplies next year, I'd rather stick with a small plot of familiar plants like tomatoes. So my question is, is it better to till and compost once in fall then again in spring? Or will I be just as well off to wait and start in early spring with tilling and fertilizing/spreading compost? Thanks everyone!

Comments (12)

• Lloyd
    9 years ago

Welcome to the forum!

First off, I'm not much of a gardener so take this for what it's worth.

Unless your soil is severely depleted, I see no reason to add compost twice per year. Once ought to be sufficient.

As to timing. If the compost is mature, spring application is fine. If the compost is immature, then fall is better, or if applying in spring, a period of time for the material to decompose within the soil prior to planting/seeding should be strongly considered.