Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jeremynjz6

Potatoes as compost

jeremynjz6
16 years ago

Hello everyone, I'm pretty new to gardening and compost, it kind of rubbed off on me from my mother. Next spring I'll be starting a pumpkin/gourd patch, about 150 sq ft. I have a decent amount of compost already but I was wondering if adding about 100 lbs of potatoes to the area and covering it with leaves would have any bad side effect ( besides pulling up a bunch of sprouts later on). I already buried a layer of corn stalks in the area to add some air and OM to the site. Thanks, and what a great site this is.

Comments (7)

• jeannie7
    16 years ago

Jeremy, go ahead, throw those potatoes into the pile, but restrict it to peelings and skins.
    Potato peels and skins rot down quickly without any risk of regrowth.
    Its the whole potatoes that may re-grow if you throw them into the mix.
    Better to mash them or cut them up in little pieces.
    They would rot down much faster in any case.
    You certainly wouldn't want potatoes growing in that compost pile -- at least, not without informing guests that the white stuff with gravy comes from it.

• jeremynjz6
    Original Author
    16 years ago

I'll cut them up from now on,I started to notice whole potatoes still in the pile when I mixed it, sometimes weeks later. I was really wondering about putting the potatoes directly onto the future pumpkin patch, under leaves, just to save the time from moving the compost to the patch (not really that much hastle, just seeing if my idea was any good).

• Kimmsr
    16 years ago