Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
zssouri

decomposed granite for a patio

zssouri
20 years ago

I was just watching HGTV, and two landscaping episodes used crushed brick and decomposed granite to make patio areas.

We are conteplating putting in a patio out back. However, right under this area is where our septic tank sits. My husband is concerned about weight on top of the tank.

Two questions: 1) Weight

2) How hard does the crushed brick or decomposed granite set up? We have rain (Oregon) 8 months out of the year. By using this area for BBQ'ing, relaxing, moving patio furniture around on the surface-- how will it hold up?

Thank you in advance!

I am new to this form-- found it in a web search!!

Comments (33)

• lazy_gardens
    20 years ago

It doesn't set up much at all. And in a wet climate, it would probably smush into the mud. And it's just gravel unless you use one of the hardeners, so it's not a stable surface.

Weight - no more than regular dirt.

In a rainy area, where removable is important in case the tank needs servicing, you might do beter to have a deck with joists that span the tank area. In case you need access, unscrew the decking.

• txplanter
    20 years ago

Decomposed granite is a mess. It washes out into the yard and is uncomfortable to walk on. It is not stable at all. My dad used everything he could, and it still washes out. It is aesthetically beautiful and very complimentary to a garden but high maintenance.

• spd5103
    20 years ago

If you mix it with cement, does that stableize it?

• advlan
    20 years ago

Yes

• Peter_Houghton
    20 years ago