Return to the Gardening with Stone Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
'Ding Dong the Lawn in Gone...Yahoo!

Posted by sunnysandy z5WA (My Page) on
Sun, Oct 16, 05 at 14:08

I'm a new member, this is my first time ever in a "forum"
I am an vegetable gardener who finally took out her front yard grass, did the lasagna layering and am ready to design with about 50 med size rocks discovered semi-buried in my alley 50 year old Laurel "tree" and about 50 new drought tolerant plants, ie: sage, thyme, lavender, rudbeckia, some
dwarf evergreens, grasses, sedums, hebes and local elderberry and red twig dogwood.

My front yard was flat and with the help of lasagna layering I have created some dimension and raised the whole elevation of the site.

I would like to keep the whole front yard natural looking and without any brick edgings, manufactured items, or masses of the perverbial bark mulch seen everywhere in great mounds around KFC, Taco bell, etc., etc!!

Any ideas or inspiration (picture wise) on humble placement of medium size rock and natural ways to create foot paths across this lofty area? ALSO...the Lasagna experts always say you can plant the same day but isn't there quite a bit of air pockets and too much organic material not broken down yet that might kill the roots of newly planted plants. Any feedback will be greatly appreciated. I live in a 'banana belt area of the Pacific NW and my front is total southern exposure. I would like to create a fusion of Southwest xeriscaping and a Mediterraen beachy look.
Thankyou

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: 'Ding Dong the Lawn in Gone...Yahoo!

Great!! I believe all those pretty green lawns are an absolute waste of time, work and money. If you can afford it, buy a few good ref. books, or get them at the library. I have one; "Stonescaping" by Jan Whitner that overs everything from Japanese to European styles.