Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
myfrozenlittlepond

In floor radiant heating in greenhouse

myfrozenlittlepond
10 years ago

I am a newbie here and I didn't find too much already posted and discussed on this. I am building my dream greenhouse this year and have planned a freestanding 12' x 20' structure. I plan to heavily insulate the north and parts of the east and west walls, and use 5 wall polycarbonate on the rest. My goal is to grow in this greenhouse year round in zone 3, where recently we didn't see positive temperatures for over a week straight. I plan to excavate, insulate, lay 3 layers of coils separated by about 6" in sand under the structure and circulate heated fluid, likely heated by either gas or electric water heater. I plan to install raised beds to grow in, for both starting seedlings and growing veggies year round. Has anyone done this already, and did it heat adequately in cold temps?

Comments (12)

• steve333_gw
    10 years ago

I have not heard of anyone using in-ground radiant heat for a GH. I suspect that is because the volume of soil (and its thermal mass) would take a huge amount of heat to warm up, before it starts radiating to the air and plants above it. And if you are using gas or electricity to get that soil heated, your utility bills would be equally huge. It is generally cheaper and quicker to heat the air as needed (although even that tends to be pricey in very cold climates).

A few things you might want to consider along these lines:

1. Look into the SHCS for GH heat. It is a heat capture system which uses the soil as the heat sink. Similar in some ways to a radiant heating system, but with some improved efficiencies due to a condensation cycle. If you are in an area that has sunny winters it might work well for you (though you will still likely need some supplemental heat as it will not heat a GH alone thru the winter in Z3).