Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
goffmode

Look at what I built

goffmode
14 years ago

I want to thank many of you for the valuable informtion you have shared on this forum. In 2004 I studied this forum nightly, researched the web, and read all I could get my hands on.

With almost no previous experience using power tools, or even a hammer, I designed and built my 12' x 16' greenhouse myself. The greenhouse materials, including heater, fan and benches cost about $1950. Since I discovered that I could not nail 2 pieces of wood together, the entire greenhouse is screwed together.

Six plus years later, it still standing strong. I just wish that I built it bigger. If this 50+ something woman can do it, anyone can.

Here is a link that might be useful:

Comments (37)

• mmmcm
    14 years ago

Wow that is amazing. You have a gift. What did you use for glazing?

• goffmode
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thank you kindly.

I used twin wall polycarbonate (8mm) if memory serves me right. I purchased the poly from Sundance and picked up the panels from their wharehouse in CT. I made sure everything would fit in my minivan and that I could handle it myself. The most difficult part was squaring and leveling the foundation timbers and shoveling the 2 ton of crushed rock for the flooring. After that everything else was easy.

Susan

• billala
    14 years ago

A big well-done. All that studying and research obviously paid off. You should quit your day job, and go into GH designing.

• dcarch7 d c f l a s h 7 @ y a h o o . c o m
    14 years ago

What you built is super fantastic, however, (please don't take this as a criticism) the design is seriously lacking in structural stability.

Fortunately, it should not be too difficult to correct that.

If you agree, there will be a few people here who can suggest solutions.

dcarch

• eric_wa
    14 years ago

dcarch,

(please don't take this as a criticism) the design is seriously lacking in structural stability.