Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nugardnrinnc

For the water barrel skeptics

nugardnrinnc
13 years ago

I just built a greenhouse this past fall. I'm new to greenhouses and gardening, but I've always been a plant lover. I've been reading in alot of places of people being skeptical of using barrels of water for thermal mass, some even condoning the use. Well I can say I wanted to use this winter as a learning experience before I actually tried to make any plants live through the winter in the GH, and boy it has been. In early winter in december temperatures dropped in the teens and so did my GH. I only had 4 barrels at the time and I myself became skeptical of their ability. But I stuck to my plan and finally found 10 more barrels to finish off my thermal mass. In the past two weeks I have added these barrels and so far I have a total of ten full (counting what I had and I haven't filled the rest b/c my water hose has been frozen). Also I need to mention I have a 1500 watt elec heater that in December I had running wide open. Now I have the heater on about halfway. I woke up this morning to 19f out side and 35 in the GH. Now I know this isn't ideal, and not going to allow me year round crops, but it's a great improvement since Dec. and I'm not done yet. Plus the fact that warm sunny days have been few and far between I didn't expect to much. To me the fact that I can keep a simple poly hoophouse from freezing is a step in the right direction and proof that water for thermal mass does work and is alot cheaper than other heat sources.

Comments (15)

• stressbaby
    13 years ago

I'm one of the skeptics and you just proved my point.

There is a difference in the utility of water as thermal mass in a GH which you are just trying to keep above freezing and a GH which needs to be at 55F for citrus, bananas, orchids, or whatever.

In your case you are taking advantage of the latent heat for energy. The water freezes and as it does so, puts out lots of BTUs.