Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
alexander3_gw

How does gravel at the bottom of post holes help?

alexander3_gw
15 years ago

I'm about to begin building an arbor, and I frequently see the recommendation to put a layer of gravel at the bottom of post holes "for drainage"

I'm not a soil scientist, but I don't get how a pocket of gravel surrounded by soil is going to change drainage. My soil is clay, but pretty well drained. I'm imagining what happens at the end of a big rain, the water working its way through the soil... how does that gravel change anything? I mean, the water is still all "connected", so even if it can travel faster through the gravel, isn't water from the surrounding soil just going to seep in to find its own level?

Hit me with a clue hammer please,

Alex

Comments (6)

• kudzu9
    15 years ago

Wet/damp soil will be in full contact with the post and keep the wood wet until the soil dries out. On the other hand, the gravel is not porous and is only in partial contact with the post, so it will only retain a bit of moisture on its surface and will allow water to flow away quickly and the post to remain relatively dry. Unless you continuously have water saturating the soil with no drainage, the gravel will keep the post much drier. Finally, soil will have all kinds of destructive micro-organisms in it, while gravel will support far fewer of these.

• garyfla_gw
    15 years ago

Hi
    Got to see some results from this as the trellis/shed had been up more than 10 years . Had 8 posts and due to running out of money and time all were set differently though all were set at the same depth. Set in concrete rotted right at ground level, set in pea gravel no rot but severe checking. set in soil rot below groundlevel . All PT pine.4x4's. No method did a thing for 125 MPH hurricane lol The gravel set were as strong as concrete set. In fact concrete were the first to snap.