Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kokkin1

DIY Greenhouse I can dismantle

kokkin1
9 years ago

Hi to all, completely newbie here, and apologies if this has been asked before, but could not locate something similar to it. I live in a Greek island and temps are quite high all year(summer can get up to 110 F - 45 C). In winter, we get some rain, and the cold nights day last about 3 months but with no subzero temps. I do gardening all year long in a neigbhor's empty lot (tomatoes, potatoes, corn, beans etc) as a personal hobby. We enjoy tomatoes so much, my wife insists on planting them all year long. Given that the lot belongs to someone else, I can not build a permanent structure there, plus the high summer temps would ruin it in a couple of seasons, plus I need it only for 3-4 months per year.
Thus my question: can anyone of the resident experts direct me to a source for DIY blueprints for a greenhouse that I can build, setup and dismantle every season (in panels) so as to store in the garage and save space?

Thanking all in advance
Andreas

Comments (6)

• CanadianLori
    9 years ago

PVC pipe and plastic are a pretty easy set up/break down. I say that, but, I haven't done mine yet. I got distracted building a cold frame and other items!

• hex2006
    9 years ago

You didnt mention what size you needed but a Tetra 3 HZ is a simple but very sturdy structure. Pretty easy to homebrew from 30 pieces of timber. With standard 8ft lengths you`ll have a 17ft diameter floor and a10ft apex.
    A removable cover can be made from woven poly panels welded or sewn together. If you want to use rigid glazing, you`ll need to panelise the triangles so they bolt together at the edges and use additional X1 struts to further divide the triangles so you can cut the glazing panels from standard 8x4 sheets with little waste.