Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
colokid

How hot?

colokid
14 years ago

I am brand new to a little GH. Actually about 24 hours new.

I knew it would get hot but I did not expect that hot, that quick. I know about ventilation and fans.

So my question is, how hot can lettuce stand? and how hot can tomatoes stand before they die? Any other plant that I need to be careful with?

KennyP

Comments (8)

• greenhouser2
    14 years ago

Lettuce wont do well in a GH unless you can keep the temps down. As for the toms, some can take a lot more heat than others. I found that neither of these plants thrive in a GH.

• DrHorticulture_
    14 years ago

Below 70-75 for lettuce. Toms can tolerate up to low 90s in vegetative stage but once they start flowering, try to keep them in 70s and low 80s. In your zone, you could probably use the GH to grow eggplant and do the toms and rest outdoors. Assuming you like eggplant...

• tommyk
    14 years ago

We get a jump start on warm-weather veggies like tomatoes, cukes, eggplants, peppers, squash by transplanting them in our extra GH on May 1 (Zone 5) Even late-April/Early May the temps can get quite hot in the GH if you don't ventilate. And as someone stated if it's too hot flowering/fruiting can be affected. It's important to ventilate if you want early production out of the above veggies. It's always better to have the GH a little cooler than hotter . . . the plants will like it and so will you!

• wordwiz
    14 years ago

Uh, toms can take heat in the low 90s, even if they are flowering. If not, no one in OH would get fruits in summer! Lettuce (at least loose leaf types) can also survive higher temps but do tend to bolt. We got to 81 today and the GH got to 92 but I have a fan inside circulating air.