Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
chiefrmcornproject

Greenhouses in the northern Rocky Mountains

ChiefRMCornProject
10 years ago

Hi guys,
So a great gal posted on her blog about difficulties with turning an old shed into a greenhouse. I shared some information with her that I think a lot more folks would find useful. There's so much conflicting information and advice when it comes to greenhouses. In my opinion, one size does not fit all, and in at high elevations and far northern latitudes, you really need solid advice if you want a greenhouse that will actually extend your growing season and be useful.

I'm a 25 year old farmer, entrepreneur, physicist and writer born and raised among the snow-capped mountains of Montana. I grew up on an off-the-grid homestead with my brother, raised by my dad--a scientist, historian, entrepreneur, farmer, author, alternative energy expert and passive solar pioneer (he's never one to brag, so I'll do it for him). My brother and I went off on scholarships, first to the east coast then to the south for college, but we have since returned to our wild mountains to build our lives and prepare to not only survive, but thrive and pass the torch of civilization to those who will follow us.

My dad's done thousands of passive solar greenhouses and I grew up learning about it through osmosis. I only give advice on what I've tried and experienced first-hand at 5,000 ft elevation here in Montana. I won a solar hot water heater competition back east by boiling 8 oz of cold water in 30 minutes using nothing but cardboard, saran wrap, string, duct tape, black spray paint, aluminum foil, and a soda can. My fellow physics students were baffled, but I had the advantage of a childhood spent playing with solar energy.

There is a lot of scientific info, including graphs and charts and equations, I could be slinging around, but for the sake of brevity I'll try to keep it simple.