Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jally1

makeshift greenhouse for storm protection

jally
9 years ago

Hi, all. I don't have a car, so it's hard to get around to big box stores. I'm seeking advice regarding easiest way for a weak shrimp like myself to set up a Sloping-Roof Clear-Vinyl enclosure for the weird situation you see in my attached photo.

There's no garden as of yet (I'm a total Newb, hoping to plant snow peas, green beans etc.

I have yet to drag alot more layers of earth from a far-off part of my yard, prior to adding {{gwi:297905}} to each seedling.

I'd like something durable, to hold up against severe weather.

I was considering placing the 3 cinderblocks surrounding the black corrugated pipe you see in the pic, then filling the pipe with more rocks or cinderblocks, then placing a sturdy tree-limb within (I've plenty of those).
Then tying vinyl clothesline wire to North fence post,
...then connect that to the post-inside-corrugated-pipe
.....then connect that to the East fence post.

Then tacking vinyl sheeting to a thin-wood plank
...and tie the plank to the East fence
.....and letting the vinyl sheet extend till clothesline
.......where it would be fastened.

Something like that.
Would it work?
Also, see the pic where I stated re: kids & groundhogs.

Advice appreciated, thanks!

Comments (10)

• CanadianLori
    9 years ago

Have you thought about making a light weight pvc frame, anchring it, and covering with plastic?

• apprenticegardener
    9 years ago

I've modified your picture to illusltrate an easy way to do what you want.