Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
desertgreenhouse

Power control center or other electricity?

desertgreenhouse
14 years ago

Hello, this is my first post although I've been reading posts here for nearly a year.

I'm new to the greenhouse gardening and live in the dry, hot and cold mountainous desert region of West Texas. I have a nice greenhouse that is the perfect size for what we need, but it's small (6x8 with about 7 feet at the peak). I put my greenhouse up in January, so I haven't had a summer with it yet. I have a shade cloth partially covering my greenhouse for the hot months, and a misting system set up. I've been able to drop the temp at least 15 degrees with the cloth and nearly 30 degrees with the misting. I have a screened automatic vent at the top, a screened louvre vent at one bottom end, and I screened the door and leave that open during the day as well.

The only problem is, I have my mister set on a timer so it's not running all day (the timer only allows 4 hour intervals and I have it going 20 minutes every 4 hours, will increase to 1 hour every 4 hours so it's going every 3 hours if I need to, but don't want to do it more than that). When the heat of the day sets in (getting in the 90s here right now), it's between 73 and 82 degrees in the greenhouse when the mister is on. When the mister goes off, it's about 95 within an hour and quickly going up to sometimes 110 before I catch it and turn the mister back on.