Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gwrace

Our new Riga Greenhouse

David Shawver
12 years ago

We are located in south central Texas and I've been promising my wife a greenhouse for many years. We finally decided on a Riga V. We wanted to make this a family project and tried to include the kids and dogs. This is still very much a work in progress with many of the final touches still to be completed. Our kids enjoyed taking these photos of the day to day progress. It will have electric and water service when completed.

Here is a link that might be useful: Riga V Greenhouse Pictures

Comments (7)

• Julia WV (6b)
    12 years ago

Thanks for sharing the pictures. Looks like everyone was involved including the dogs LOL.
    Tell me about your experience with putting it together. Was it easy or hard? Did you have to make any modifications and how long did it take to put it all together?
    Did you anchor it into the ground or just used the base frame they provided?

Julia

• JoeinWA
    12 years ago

Hey! Looks great!

When I put mine together I ended up with some extra weather stripping that I never figured out. Did you find homes for all of yours??

• digdirt2
    12 years ago

Good job! I'm curious why you chose the Riga over other models with similar prices?

Dave

• David Shawver
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Thanks all for the replies. I'll try to answer the questions.

Julia

The greenhouse was not difficult to put together. We did have a bit of frustration with the documentation and assembly video. The greenhouse was built in Germany and the assembly guide was in German. The only US distributor is located just down the road from us in Austin, TX and he provided the video and English assembly guide. The English assembly guide was written in 2005, the video in 2007 and the German guide in 2009. The manufacturer had gone through a few product changes and revisions which made it somewhat difficult to determine if we had a missing or changed part.