Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hartwood_gw

New Member, Scheming Spring Greenhouse Construction.

hartwood
16 years ago

Hi, All.

I usually hang out in the Rose forums -- I've been lurking here for a few weeks now, thoroughly enjoying what I am finding.

Though I will be new to anything greenhouse related, I am not new to gardening or construction. I'm a long-time remodeler and carpenter. My husband and I have been restoring and renovating an 1848 brick Gothic Revival farm house for the past 5 years. There's not much I can't either build or fix -- I take pride in trying to solve problems by thinking outside the box whenever possible. It's time to put some of my efforts this winter into planning the construction of a greenhouse -- something I have wanted for a long time. I have been trying to come up with a plan to put some of my collected salvage materials to use in the process.

My current scheme started when I was reading an article on this greenhouse in a fairly recent issue of BH&G magazine. I figured I could modify it to use my salvage windows and stuff, so I ordered the plan.

{{gwi:310213}}

This idea went by the wayside earlier this year when I found the photos of wyndyacre's greenhouse. Using her greenhouse for inspiration, I have now ordered the plans for this shed:

{{gwi:310214}}

I expect it will be fairly straight-forward to modify this into a greenhouse, enlarging it from the original 12 x 16 to at least 12 x 20 -- why completely reinvent the wheel if you don't have to? I have the sash from 5 very large double-hung windows that I plan to gang together to use along the south wall, and other various window sash for the end and north walls. Last month, I scored some cool 1930's metal kitchen cabinets with a cast iron sink from Craig's list for the inside.